Reverse Engineering

Is Carsonified Our Type?

While I could not find the initial creator of this design, I did a bit of digging using the information in the piece itself and discovered that the company advertized is Carsonified.com, a web design company. I found the initial ad here, and was drawn to its sleek composition and the apparent differences between type fonts; however, I will admit that since this was the best image quality I could find, and that attempting to enhance the images to look at the smaller print resulted in decreased image quality, it was difficult to place the families, but I have narrowed each down to a major and minor possibility. I’ll post my breakdown here, and am more than happy to accept feedback on alternate views!

carsonified type example

A Typefont Family Gathering: Who’s Who?

I’ve taken the liberty of focusing on the two main typefonts, and I’ve circled prominent examples in two different colors:

carsonified type outline

I debated for a while on the sections circled in blue, but after some deliberation, I believe they qualify as “Modern”. Here is my reasoning:

Close up modern breakdown

While the fact that this is the clearest “closeup” image I could get limited my ability to discern small details clearly, it does seem as though the serifs on the text are fully horozontal, rather than slanted. The letters also seem to show vertical stress. Both of these things are listed in the text as major indicators that a font belongs to the Modern family. One caveat, however, is that close scrutiny of the capital “T” on the bottom row seems to suggest a font similar to Times New Roman, which is classified as an “Oldstyle” font… So it may be that I’ve missed something?

In contrast, I’ve identified the areas circled in yellow as “Oldstyle”, for the following reasons:

Close up oldstyle breakdown

While this font’s “nubby” look made it difficult to tell how to group this font according to its serifs, the negative space in the “O’s” makes it seem as though there is diagonal stress in the letters, a trait only Oldstyle fonts possess. Another possibility, based on the thick and mainly horizontal serifs, is that this is a “slab serif” font… The combination of traits here makes it difficult to tell.

Is There Sufficient Contrast?

While my eyes tell me that there is sufficient contrast here, with the differences of hard lines verses curves and thin letters verses thick ones, I’m wondering if maybe the folks at Carsonified couldn’t have tried to mix it up a little more? That being said, I do believe that the two fonts are from different families, with the larger, “bubblier” font contrasting nicely against the thinner, “sharper” lines of the other… The fact that I couldn’t initially tell which families these fonts belong to might just be due to my own lack of experience.

Leave a Reply

